## Section 12.-Dominion Trade and Industry Commission.\*

The Dominion Trade and Industry Commission was constituted by Act of Parliament in 1935 (c. 59, 25-26 Geo. V). It consists of three Commissioners, one of whom is the Chief Commissioner and another the Assistant Chief Commissioner. The Act provides that for the time being the members of the Tariff Board (see Section 11) shall be the Commissioners, and the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Tariff Board shall be the Chief Commissioner and Assistant Chief Commissioner, respectively. The administration of the Act is vested in the Minister of Trade and Commerce.

Duties of the Commission consist of investigating and recommending the prosecution of offences against Acts of Parliament relating to commodity standards; preparation of draft specifications for commodity standards; application of the national trade mark "Canada Standard" to commodities that conform to specifications established under any Act of Parliament; investigation of complaints respecting unfair trade practices, and recommending the prosecution of offenders against any Dominion law prohibiting unfair trade practices; the convening of conferences for the purpose of considering commercial practices prevailing in industry, and determining what practices are unfair or undesirable in the interest of the industry or the public. Offences against Acts of Parliament and regulations relating to commodity standards and unfair trade practices are reported by the Commission to the Attorney General of Canada with a recommendation for prosecution.

## Section 13.—Other Miscellaneous Administration.

In previous editions of the Year Book this chapter has been brought to a close with outlines of Dominion Government administration as follows: the International Joint Commission; the Geodetic Survey of Canada; the Topographical Survey; the Dominion Observatories.

The three latter services were, up to the end of 1936, administered by the Department of the Interior but, as will be seen from the outline of Dominion legislation on p. 1085 of the 1937 edition of the Year Book, the newly-organized Department of Mines and Resources, which came into effect on Dec. 1, 1936, absorbed the old Departments of Mines, Interior, Indian Affairs, and Immigration. The Geodetic Survey and the Dominion Observatories administrations are continued as Divisions of the Surveys and Engineering Branch of the new Department, but topographical survey work has been re-organized, the mapping work having been combined with the Hydrographic Service as a Division of the Surveys and Engineering Branch, and the topographical survey work taken over by the Bureau of Geology and Topography of the Mines and Geology Branch.

The purpose of establishing the above-mentioned new Departments was to correlate the efforts of the staffs of such older Departments as had, in the course of time, acquired overlapping features, or which could be more economically administered under one head without impairing the usefulness of necessary services.

<sup>\*</sup> Revised by James R. MacGregor, Secretary, Dominion Trade and Industry Commission,